I decided to do a very crude visualization to see which countries are more child-friendly in terms of maternity leave. I was able to find data for some countries. The data set I used is from ‘The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies at Columbia University – Table 1 Maternity, Paternity, and Parental Leaves in the OECD Countries 1998-2002‘. I used Google Fusion Tables to store and visualize the data. From the OECD table I took the first maternity leave number (ml) (in weeks) and the ‘Percentage of Wage Replaced (%)’ (p) to calculate a C-friendliness (Child Friendliness Index) and my crude formula was:

C-friendliness = ml * p

(if p = 0, then p = 1).

You can examine the normal map:

Child Friendliness of Some Countries - 1

Child Friendliness of Some Countries - 1

You can also see it as an intensity map (the greener the better):

Child Friendliness of Some Countries - 2

Child Friendliness of Some Countries - 2

If I can find more detailed and up-to-date data including more countries I plan to update the my Google fusion table, too. I also think the formula I came up with is very crude and does not take into account some subtle points and thus may be unfair to some countries. My purpose here was to start with a very basic map of child-friendliness and I hope to refine it in the future.

Any comments? Do you have a better data source or can you come up with a better formula for child friendliness index? Feel free to share your ideas!