As followers of this blog may have already noticed, I’ve been giving introductory programming classes to children and nowadays I have a student who is 12 years old. During our lessons, her sister (8 years old) is always very curious about what we talk about and she is generally surprised at what her elder sister can do with Scratch. A few weeks ago, with the help of a robotics book, I gave a lesson about robotics and prepared an assignment to create a very simple robotics simulator in which a hand-drawn robot should go around an obstacle and reach the treasure box. Next week, to my astonishment, not only did I receive a simple and interesting Scratch program from my student, but also a short story on robots from her little sister. The story is titled “De allerkleinste robot” and it is about very little robots, witches and wizards. I have to admit that I’m totally speechless when it comes to the imagination of a child:

De allerkleinste robot - The smallest robot

De allerkleinste robot - The smallest robot